top of page

Exhibiting at the ALA: American Library Association Conference & Exhibition

It was great to have a big table for Junk Drawer at the 2017 ALA annual convention, this year at McCormick Place in Chicago. I met many wonderful librarians from around the country, from public libraries, university libraries, and even the Library of Congress. They were curious about junk drawers, and zines in general. I was also glad to be tabling with local zine maker friends, and meeting new folks. This event was huge, featuring all things related to libraries. Free Swag is big at conventions, like tote bags, pens, and books, so I presented some junk drawer swag. People thought it was funny, and some contributed items in trade. I tabled next to Jon Drawdoer and Amy Peltz, and across from Julia Arredondo of Vice Versa Press, and Neil Brideau of Radiator Comics. Jonas and I met Lynda Barry! She used to live in Evanston back when I did, and as it turned out, on the very same block. As I left, she said "nice to see you, neighbor." She is great. I used to read her comic in the Chicago Reader every week, and she is still doing books. At the end, I participated in zine reading. Pictured there is Julia.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page